News

Are Glass Noodles Gluten-free?

Find out if glass noodles, or cellophane noodles, are safe for a gluten-free diet, plus which brands to shop for at the store.

If you love glass noodles in stir-fries, soup, or spring rolls, you’re not alone. This popular Chinese and Korean noodle is a versatile noodle that takes on just about any flavor of dish you add it to.

If you’ve never tried glass noodles, they don’t have much of a flavor on their own, but they do add some great texture and flavor to dishes. They sometimes get mistaken for rice noodles, though they are most commonly made with mung beans or sweet potatoes.

If you follow a gluten-free diet, you may have been wondering if this ingredient is safe to enjoy, and hopefully here in this post you’ll get the answers you’re looking for. Find out what glass noodles are, what they’re made of, and if they’re gluten-free. Plus get a list of brands to look for next time you’re shopping in person or online.

What are glass noodles?

Glass noodles, also known as cellophane noodles, are a type of noodle that are often used in stir-fries and soups. These Asian noodles are called glass noodles, because with some ingredients, they can look transparent.

Although the name implies they’re transparent, they aren’t always, and they often look white or brown when cooked. This ingredient doesn’t have much of a flavor on its own, rather it takes on the flavor of the ingredients around it in the stir-fry or soup that it is used in.

What are glass noodles made of?

Glass noodles are made using the starch from mung beans, potatoes, sweet potatoes, or tapioca starch. Depending on the brand, they may be made from one or more of these ingredients.

Though they are similar to rice noodles or rice vermicelli, they aren’t actually made with rice and are not considered rice noodles.

What is gluten?

Gluten is a protein found in most wheat products, and acts as the “glue” that helps to hold wheat, barley, kamut, spelt, farro, durum, bulgur, rye, and semolina together to maintain their shape.

You can find gluten in whole grains, but also in many processed foods as well. If you purchase wheat bread, there will be gluten in it, because wheat by nature has gluten.

Many processed foods have hidden gluten in them in the form of gluten or wheat derivatives. These are also in the form of flavorings, binders to keep ingredients together, or other additives.

Are glass noodles gluten-free?

Since glass noodles are made with mung beans, potatoes, sweet potatoes, or tapioca starch, these are considered to be an option for a gluten-free diet.

Though it’s generally accepted that glass noodles are gluten-free, some manufacturers may add other ingredients that contain gluten. It’s always a good idea to check ingredients lists before purchasing.

Glass noodles are gluten-free and can be used in many stir-fry dishes as well as soups. 

This type of noodle is a great substitute in recipes that call for noodles with gluten, like udon or ramen noodles.

Glass noodle is being sold at Safimex company. If you are interested in this product, pls feel free to contact us at info@safimex.com

Source: Rachael Roehmholdt

SAFIMEX JOINT STOCK COMPANY

Head Office: 216/20a Duong Ba Trac Street, Ward 2, District 8, Hochiminh City, Vietnam.
Tel: (+84)-(28)-3636 2388 | (+84)-(28)-3636 2399| Web: Www.Safimex.Com